1926–1933: The early years / Nazi dictatorship

1926 Club founded on the initiative of Heinz Dilger at the "Zur Krone" restaurant (39 founding members), commencement of football activities in the C-Klasse Wiesbaden
1927 Construction of the Sportplatz auf dem Halberg
1933 Dissolution of the club following the assumption of power by the Nazi regime, continuation of football activities in the form of occasional friendly matches (until 1939)

1946–1959: A new beginning

1946 Club is re-founded by Karl Bender and recommences football activities with two teams. The first team plays in the B-Klasse Wiesbaden until the 1948/49 season.
1948 Wilhelm Baum becomes chairman, Karl Bender becomes honorary chairman.
1955 Trainer Willi Lehmann establishes a youth team.
1958/59 The team twice finish as runners-up under coach Andreas Reißländer.
1959 Construction of changing rooms at the Halberg carried out by the club with building materials supplied by Wilhelm Herdling.

1960–1968: The upturn

1960 SVW finish as runners-up once again, as well as winning the Kreispokal and Bezirkspokal. In addition, the club finishes among the best 16 teams at state level in the cup competition for the first time.
1963 The pitch is expanded thanks to 2,000 hours of voluntary work.
1965 The first team become B-Klasse Wiesbaden champions under coach Helmut Fiegen and are promoted to the A-Klasse. Their points ratio of 54-0 and goal difference of 117-15 set a national record and are acknowledged by ZDF (in the form of a film report about SV Wehen) and the sports media.

40 year-anniversary, admission to the Sports Federation of the State of Hesse.

1967 Installation of the first floodlight system in the Untertaunus district.
1968 The club become champions under Willi Weber and are promoted to the Bezirksliga.

1970–1976: The expansion years

1970 Inauguration of the Sportlerheim auf dem Halberg
1971 Relegation to the A-Klasse; foundation of an "Old Boys" department; intensification of youth development work under Helmuth Viehmann, which leads to several district titles being won.
1975 With eight teams and approximately 120 youngsters, SVW (under youth director Günter Junker) boast the largest youth department in the Untertaunus district.
1976 The youth department increases to 10 teams and 150 youngsters under Manfred Fuck. 50-year anniversary goes hand in hand with a further expansion of the sports ground.

1982–1992: The promotion years

1982 Heinz Hankammer takes over as chairman from Helmut Kraft. Club awarded a prize for its exemplary youth development work by the Sepp Herberger Foundation.
1983 A-Klasse champions and promotion to the Bezirksklasse (under coach Karlheinz Kühn).
1984 Registration of a women's team
1985 Relegation of the first team to the A-Klasse
1986 Immediate return to the Bezirksklasse (under Horst Hülß)
1987 Bezirksliga champions and promotion to the Landesliga
1988 Winner of the Hessenpokal and qualification for the DFB Cup Round of 16 (3-2 loss against Kaiserslautern) under Karlheinz Kühn
1989 Landesliga champions and promotion to the Oberliga
1992 Runners-up in the Hessenpokal and qualification for the DFB Cup first round (3-2 defeat by Eintracht Frankfurt)

1994–2005/06: The turnaround

1994 A total of 18 teams qualify for the Regionalliga Süd, with six clubs from each of the Oberliga Hessen, Oberliga Baden-Württemberg and Oberliga Bayern forming the new division. Although SVW occupy seventh position in the three-year points ranking (positions 11, 9 and 3 in the seasons between 1991 and 1994), FSV Frankfurt's promotion to the 2. Bundesliga means Wehen move up.
1994/95 17th position in the table, relegation to the Oberliga.
1995/96 7th position in the Oberliga, winner of the Hessenpokal and qualification for the DFB Cup first round (2-1 defeat to second-tier side VfB Lübeck).
1996/97 Oberliga champions and promotion to the Regionalliga.
1997/98 Regionalliga: 13th position in the table
1998/99 Regionalliga: 6th position in the table
1999/00 Regionalliga: 13th position in the table. SVW qualify for the two-track Regionalliga and win the Hessenpokal for the third time.
2000/01 SVW take Borussia Dortmund to extra-time in the DFB Cup but ultimately lose 1-0 courtesy of a Heiko Herrlich goal. Regionalliga: 11th position in the table. Runners-up in the Hessenpokal.
2001/02 Regionalliga: 6th position in the table
2002/03 Conversion of the board into a presidium, Heinz Hankammer elected president. Regionalliga: 7th position in the table; runners-up in the Hessenpokal.
2003/04 Regionalliga: 7th position in the table
2004/05 Regionalliga: 3rd position in the table
2005/06 Regionalliga: 3rd position in the table; Maximilian Nicu finishes as top-scorer (16 goals)

2006/07–2008/2009: Second tier for the first time

2006/07 Promotion to the 2. Bundesliga under the coaching duo of Christian Hock and Steffen Vogler. Reserves promoted to the Oberliga.
2007/08 2. Bundesliga status preserved with an 8th-place finish. Relocation to the BRITA-Arena in Wiesbaden, foundation of SV Wehen 1926 Wiesbaden GmbH. Reserves promoted to the Regionalliga.
2008/09 Relegation from the 2. Bundesliga. Qualification for the DFB Cup quarter-final (2-1 loss away to Bundesliga club Hamburger SV)

2009/2010 – 2018/19: Third tier and the long-anticipated promotion

2009/10 3.Liga: 15th position in the table
2010/11 3.Liga: 4th position in the table, winner of the Hessenpokal
2011/12 3.Liga: 16th position in the table
2012/13 3.Liga: 7th position in the table
2013/14 3.Liga: 4th position in the table, qualification for the DFB Cup first round
2014/15 3.Liga: 9th position in the table
2015/16 3. Liga: 16th position in the table
2016/17 3. Liga: 7th position in the table, winner of the Hessenpokal, qualification for the DFB Cup first round
2017/18 3. Liga: 4th position in the table, qualification for the DFB Cup first round
2018/19 3. Liga: 3rd position in the table, play-off against FC Ingolstadt, promotion to the 2. Bundesliga, qualification for the DFB Cup, winner of the Hessenpokal

2019/20 – ...: Finally back in the second tier

to be continued ...

Coaching history

Horst Hülß (1984–1988)
Herbert Dörenberg (1 July 1989 – 6 August 1990)
Klaus Fischer (11 August 1990 – 30 December 1990)
Hermann Hummels (8 January 1991 – 5 November 1991)
Karlheinz Kühn (6 November 1991 – 30 June 1992)
Heinz Wulf (1 July 1992 – 11 February 1993)
Robert Jung (18 February 1993 – 10 October 1994)
Max Reichenberger (10 October 1994 – 2 June 1995)
Bruno Hübner (2 June 1995 – 30 June 1997)
Manfred Petz (1 July 1997 – 12 May 1998)
Bruno Hübner (12 May 1998 – 30 June 1998)
Martin Hohmann (1 July 1998 – 30 October 1999)
Werner Orf (1 November 1999 – 6 May 2000)
Gerd Schwickert (7 May 2000 – 3 November 2002)
Djuradj Vasic (4 November 2002 – 16 October 2006)
Christian Hock (17 October 2006 – 30 June 2007)
Djuradj Vasic (2 July – 20 August 2007)
Christian Hock (21 August 2007 – 17 December 2008)
Wolfgang Frank (19 December 2008 – 23 March 2009)
Sandro Schwarz (23 March 2009 – 30 June 2009)
Hans Werner Moser (1 July 2009 – 9 February 2010)
Gino Lettieri (9 February 2010 – 15 February 2012)
Peter Vollmann (16 February 2012 – 21 October 2013)
Marc Kienle (28 October 2013 – 11 April 2015)
Christian Hock (12 April 2015 – 30 June 2015, on interim basis)
Sven Demandt (1 July 2015 – 7 March 2016)
Christian Hock (8 March – 13 March 2016, on interim basis)
Torsten Fröhling (14 March 2016 – 5 February 2017)
Christian Hock (6 February – 12 February 2017, on interim basis)
Rüdiger Rehm (since 13 February 2017)